top of page
Popular

Review: The Soul Stone by Jamie Marchant


I was offered a free copy of the book in exchange for review by the author. While I haven’t read the first book, the author assured me it wouldn’t be a problem, as the second book can be read as a standalone. I’d like to compliment the author’s way of introducing the reader to the series without slowing down the story with lengthy explanations. It reads naturally and easily, and while it did create some interest to the first novel, I never felt like I had to read it to understand what was going on or the characters’ motivations. The Soul Stone is an epic fantasy story. In the center of the plot is a big intrigue, and the romance there compliments the story, but doesn’t overtake it. I very much liked the relationship between Samantha and Robrek. Their love for each other was as solid as stone, and no matter what, they had each other’s support. While I do enjoy some troubled romance, it’s also nice to read about a couple like them. This book has all the elements of good epic fantasy – action, thriller, sword fighting, magic, and even humor. The last one I especially appreciate. It made the characters so much more lovable and fun to read about. Near the end, the book becomes a totally crazy page-turner, and it had me reading late into the night. It reminded me why I love quest-stories so much. Recommended to epic fantasy and sword&sorcery fans!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page