top of page
Popular

Review: Consolamentum by Rebecca Hazell


*I received a free copy of the book from the author in exchange for an honest review


In the final book of the series, Sofia is once again on the move. But now it’s not just about her – she’s become a single mother, and so she needs to find a new home for herself and her child. It was quite a journey; from one part of the world to another, passed many different countries and cultures, she arrives to France and encounters the Holy Inquisition. This is where the final adventure takes place, and seeing Sofia as a mother, when not so long ago she was just a girl herself, gives us a great perspective on how her character’s grown over the course of the series. The story is wrapped up beautifully in this book, and I wish I could share it, but I always avoid spoilers in my reviews. If I had to give an overall opinion of the series, I’d say that while it’s only one lifetime, one main character, the number of cultures and their detalization is mind-blowing. This is how they should teach bored kids History in schools, I swear. Seeing the world as it was, the many countries that Sofia visited, through her eyes was a pleasure. She’s intelligent and independent, and while she questions every little thing around her, she also allows it to have an explanation and the right to exist. This is what makes this series valuable as a historical read, first of all. My favorite thing about Sofia was that she never, ever gave up. Her life was a hard one, but she used every misadventure as a lesson. It’s a winner’s attitude, to use even your misfortunes to your benefit, so that nothing can ever bring you down. Sofia would be a great example to any girl, and I hope that YA readers won’t miss this series.

I’d like to thank the author for sharing it with me for free and giving me a chance to read Sofia’s story!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page