top of page
Popular

Review: Tragic Renewal by Marlina Williams


Well, that was unexpected. So many exciting twists and turns, and even some thrilling action – not that I’d ever mind these! But somehow from the blurb I’d expected a slower kind of story, so I was pleasantly surprised with the tone and pace of the book, and found it to my liking! The main character, Harper, is dealing with a difficult divorce after twenty years with an abusive husband, who found a new victim and moved on. On top of it, her best friend Cara dies in a car accident, leaving her new big house in a small town to Harper together with a grieving dog and two horses. It seems Harper is in no condition for big changes, but she finds a sign and decides it’s time to try and change something. (Oh, how I love signs! I find them everywhere, and I don’t mind that it’s silly sometimes. Loved that little detail!) That’s about all there is in the blurb, and I won’t spoil anything for you. I agreed to review the book because I was really in the mood for inspirational women’s fiction, and that’s why all the twists were a really exciting bonus for me. What’s more, I didn’t expect the strong ending and Harper showing such a strong character. Her ex filled me with so much disgust, and the idea of her living with him for 20 years was driving me crazy. There once was a “Scott” in my life too, and luckily for me, I was only stupid enough to tolerate him for 10 months. How many lessons I’ve learned from it… Yes, men like that are always perfect on the outside, too nice, that’s how you can spot them, I suppose. Behind closed doors all their issues spill out in an attempt to feel better by treating you like crap. I felt really bad for Harper and all the misfortunes Scott brought her. One more thing: I very much liked the setting of the book. It made me realize why I couldn’t ever really connect with female characters looking for success in big cities. It’s not my thing, and reading about the small town and the farm made me happy. It’s calling out to me, and I hope, just like Harper, I’ll soon have a chance to settle down somewhere in the woods))) I’d like to thank the author for the free advanced copy in exchange for an honest review! It was a pleasure!



Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page