top of page
Popular

Review: The Mayan Red Queen: Tz'aakb'u Ahau of Palenque by Leonide Martin


Not so long ago I got a chance to read a book about the Maya civilization, and I really enjoyed it. So when I got an offer from a different author to read and review her book, which was also about the Mayan culture, I jumped on the possibility, even though I haven’t read the first two books in the series. Each book can be read as a standalone, as they tell us different stories about powerful women in the Maya history. Before I share any thoughts on the book itself, I really feel like I should mention the author and how the series was created. Leonide Martin is a retired university professor, a Maya researcher living in Yucatan, Mexico and studying with elders, daykeepers and shamans. Her focus on ancient Mayan women led to writing the Mayan Queens series called “Mists of Palenque.” As you see, the author’s books have a special purpose – to share the Mayan women rules’ stories with people, using fictional characters only to add to real stories and make them more fascinating. This must be the most interesting author’s bio I’ve seen so far, and I can’t even imagine what an interesting life the author must live. Here’s another quote: Taking apprenticeship, she became a Maya Fire Woman and Solar Initiate in the Itza tradition. Her trips to Maya sites, participation in rituals and archeological study bring factual accuracy to her writing, which blends scientific views with those of indigenous Mayas.

This book explores the life of the Mayan Red Queen of Palenque, and how she’s made her way from a shy, homely girl to a true queen. Her name is Lakam, and she’s become a part of the royal family only to find out that her new husband is in love with another woman, and his mother only cares about keeping him tied to herself in all possible ways. So Lakam, who’s neither beautiful nor bold, must find a way to her husband’s heart through her wisdom and female power. What we have in the end is a beautiful love story, but there is also much more to it. The thing is, even though it takes some time to get into the story, to get used to the names and get to know the characters, after that the story really draws you in, and the range of emotions is amazing. The author’s style and her personal experience with this culture helps turn the picture of Mayan ruins into a real, magnificent setting, with all the ancient rulers vivid in our mind in all their glory. So, even though it’s a new genre for me, I think it’s safe to say that it’s a must read for everyone who’s fascinated with it. Another group of readers who I think should give it a try is those interested in women’s issues and powerful female figures in history, because this is something you won’t find in history books. I’d like to thank the author for providing me with a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page