top of page
Popular

Review: Vulnerable by April Wilson


I got a copy of Vulnerable from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I think the cover makes it obvious that it’s a romance book, and if I were to narrow it down a bit, I’d say it’s a billionaire boyfriend/bodyguard/age difference romance. You already know I’m into the bodyguard genre, and even though I write fantasy for now, I actually have in plans a bodyguard romance/action novel, so I’m interested in learning more about the genre. Even if this one is a bodyguard slash erotica book. I don’t mind a little steam in a good book. And I have to admit, it was the cover that drew me in – it’s simple but gorgeous, and I wasn’t wrong when I thought it was a perfect portrait of the heroine. She’s like a blond Mila Kunis; her Hollywood actress’s looks made it very easy to imagine every scene in the book. She really does look innocent but irresistible. I’m not into girls really, but hell, I’d abduct her too :D

Beth has gone through a real-life nightmare when she was a child. That is how the book begins, with that nightmare still haunting her years later, a dark, horror-movie-like scene that sends chills through your veins. In that minute, you can imagine what it’s like to be her.

Right after that, we’re introduced to Shane, the potential bodyguard slash boyfriend. He falls for her the moment he sees her photograph, and when there’s a chance to see her in person, he can’t resist it. And so the CEO of the security company ends up doing field work, the protective alpha male that he is. A good and believable enough start for a bodyguard romance book.

Beth is simple and likable. She’s the innocent type that’ll never be out of fashion; a good girl whose romantic life was a disaster, thanks to her history and the issues that followed. She’s given up on men and turned to romance books to keep herself entertained, the hot alpha protector kind in particular. So it’s no surprise she ends up becoming a heroine of one of those stories herself.

It’s easy to feel sympathy toward Beth. She’s too shaken to make any change on her own, unlike all those sassy heroines that make it difficult to understand why they’d need a protective boyfriend in the first place. I know what a panic attack feels like, and mine weren’t even caused by some severe stress, like in Beth’s case. Her whole life’s been changed by that awful incident, and it seems, there’s no way to fix it.

It’s obvious from my own works that I like a dynamic POV that makes a book so much like a movie, and I liked how it was done here. I also loved the subtle humor. That scene when they meet for the first time, and Beth’s reaction to Shane’s question:

“Oh, my God. Kill me now.”

- just perfect) That’s me almost every time a guy comes up to talk. And I don’t even have any issues like Beth. I just know too well how it’s gonna go.

The author does a great job weaving the storyline with an artist’s care. For example, there’s no description of Shane in the beginning, and this lets us see him for the first time through Beth’s eyes.

However, the way they meet and how quickly she agrees to go to the café with him seemed a bit off to me. Just agreeing to spend some time with him like that, without a proper conversation first, is kind of weird. There’s also his creepy approach. Even for a girl without intimacy problems or the fear of strangers, I can’t imagine that holding hands would be okay. Arm in arm – casual; hand in hand – private as hell. And Shane, touching a girl’s face mere minutes after they met… a sure way to have your head cracked open on the nearest bookshelf. Especially, knowing her history. But Beth really is bad at watching out for herself; in fact, she could teach a course on how not to talk to strangers. Attract a Stalker 101. Telling a guy when and how often you visit a place so he could find you there again?? Especially, hands-holding, speak-into-your-ear, so-gorgeous-it's-creepy dudes? Pardon my French, but I’d flip my sh*t.

But I don’t want to be too picky when it comes to romance books. After all, any successful romance story is already something of a fairy tale to me. So while I speculate on these things I’ve noticed, I don’t let it distract me from the magic that is about to happen. It has to happen somewhere, right?)) Besides, I liked the author’s writing style, it’s very effortless and smooth, which makes for a perfect weekend read.

If you’re looking for a book that’s got both thriller and romance in it, I recommend giving this one a try!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page