top of page
Popular

Review: A Tiny Bit Mortal by Lindsay Bassett


Just when I thought I've seen about everything there can be in fantasy, I was proved wrong. "A Tiny Bit Mortal" tells us about a new world, a world of Mortals and Immortals that has nothing to do with either vamps/wolves or witches/wizards. It's definitely a fresh take on fantasy with detailed world-building that still can be explored deeper and deeper. What's important to me, it wasn't annoying in any way, I liked the names, the setting, and the beautiful picture that the author's writing painted in my head as I read. I only wish the book was longer, slower in some parts, because I'm that reader who likes to devour all the magic in books slowly)) still, the pacing was good, and all the needed details were given. I'm never picky if I like the story, and here I got a fresh one and was especially interested in the conflict of morality. I do like complicated characters and never search for easy reads about some perfect people who are either heroes or villains. I liked the idea of putting the heroine in different situations and (most important) her not avoiding them but getting a taste of everything, no matter how bitter it was. She learned that it all wasn't white-and-black, and her being different gave her the ability to see the world of Immortals from a different perspective. I gotta stop here or I'll spoil something for someone)) There were a few things that bothered me, one of them was the relationships she had with her men. Maybe if it were more slow-paced, it would unfold more naturally. However, I never judge characters or the story for something like that, I want to read about different ideas and be able to find something interesting in all of them. I don't have to support the character in everything to enjoy the story. And I actually could relate sometimes, especially, when I read about her mother bugging her about spending so much time alone)) Emily is realistic and simple, not the superhero type, but still a hero, a brave girl who's ready to stand for herself and others. Exactly the kind of character I prefer :) Also, I think this story has a great potential, I got a feeling that there's more to it, that Emily could grow together with this beautiful world. Besides, the other characters are interesting and original, too, and I'd love to know more about them as well. I'm sure, together they could make quite a team) If you like new ideas in fantasy, detailed worlds and urban setting together with some magic, give a try to this book, and you won't be disappointed!

Return to the book review blog for more reviews

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page