top of page
Popular

The First Draft…Five mistakes to avoid. By Kelly St Clare


When setting out to write my very first draft I did the usual research, having little idea of how to go about it. What I found seemed lacking somehow and I always put this down to the fact the process was too complicated to convey.

In my blog series, Dear Aspiring Author, I aim to give you an in-depth insight into the methods I use to help you publish your debut book. My own debut book, Fantasy of Frost, was published in January 2015, so I was recently where you are now!

If you have done some research already, you will have seen the term “outline” and you may have formed the bigger question; to outline or not to outline? There are arguments for both sides. Some believe outlining and planning the first draft kills their motivation and creativity, while others say not outlining wastes time and leads to a massive job in the second draft clearing up inconsistancies and mistakes.

I’m not going to give you an opinion on this here, rather I am going to detail the first drafts I have done and you can take whatever helps you from my experience.

To date, I have completed three first drafts, with another in the works. The first never made it to publication, the second was published, but unnecessarily difficult, and the third was a breeze.

What was the difference?


First draft #1

Understandably, the first draft I ever did had the most mistakes. I had two major problems. The first, and most fundamental was I was not truly interested in my story. It was okay, and it made me laugh, I suppose. I thought it might appeal to age groups 60 and over…

I didn’t dream about the story, there was no obsession. My fiance didn’t have to pull me from my computer at night, I didn’t wake at five in the morning and get up, desperate to finish it, or furiously type during my breaks at work.

I read any kind of speculative fiction, and I loooove young/new adult, romance, paranormal, science fiction, and urban fantasy. Why was I trying to write something I would never read myself?

Mistake #1 - Lack of interest in story.

Mistake #2 - Wrote in a genre I would never read.

The second major problem I had was the length of time it took to complete my first draft. This isn’t a problem in itself. Some people take a year to complete their first draft (don’t get me started on JRR Tolkein). But I stopped and started, with months off inbetween. I know I held no real interest in the genre, but there was another reason for the tedious length of time it took.

I was trying to fix what I had already written before writing new material. I was essentially doing my second draft while struggling to complete my first.

Mistake #3 - Trying to fix, change, touch up the writing I did the day before.

But why is this a mistake? It needs to be done eventually. It’s a mistake because there is a time to fix, change, touch up, and it is not during the first draft. You’ll lose motivation in the first round!

But you’re worried you will miss a story line or create more work for yourself?

I always see these as excuses - sorry guys. Storylines can be added in. In my debut novel I tweaked a plot line about a month before release, and the story was much better for it. Sweet as. If you are fixing as you go because you are worried about the quality - don’t be. My first drafts (though getting steadily better) are usually horrible. Research and forums tell me this is usual. Phew. And guess what? No one sees your work until you show them.

Your first draft is just that - a first draft. Keep your momentum and your interest high. Sit down and write without looking back, and leave the sanding and polishing for your later drafts. You want to fuel your excitement by getting the story down on paper, rather than quell it with frustration because you are not getting anywhere.


“I'm writing a first draft and reminding myself that I'm simply shoveling sand into a box so that later I can build castles.” ― Shannon Hale


So that was the first draft I ever did. Poor Nina never got to tell her story because her author got bored. The manuscript now sits in some cupboard, somewhere.


First draft #2

I woke up one day with a great story in my head. I knew from that moment, the story would be published. There was no other option. What I had in mind was a young adult sci-fi fantasy. With no effort at all, I had already avoided the snake-pits of Mistakes One and Two; I was obsessed with the story and interested in the genre.

Eager to side-step Mistake Three, I merely jotted down a few names, thought a little about the worlds and storyline, put my head down - tail up - and started writing. Two weeks later I completed my first draft. Let me tell you how crazy this felt. The previous first draft took me the better part of a year! I was estactic…so what was the problem?

I realized the problem two days later (because I don’t have the ability wait for months inbetween drafts like everyone recommends).

My second draft took me a month!

This might not be long by some people’s standards, but this is all relative to each person. If your first draft took you 6 months, would you expect the second draft to take a year? I spent hours each day, often 12-14, trying to smooth inconsistancies, match up plot-lines, standardize character names and remember if I had already mentioned a particular hint, or crucial bit of information. This was also while working a full-time job. The only reason I didn’t give up was because the story nagged me so much.

As already mentioned, you will likely be horrified when you read your first draft. The first time I read mine there was definitely some emotional eating involved. You, as someone who is already doubtful as to whether your writing is good enough, already have this insecurity to contend with. In light of this, you need to make the second draft as easy as possible on yourself.

I firmly believed the exicitement of my story would be extinguished if I outlined a chapter by chapter summary. I was misled though, as I tried this for the very first draft I did and we all know how that ended - in a cupboard. Really, that draft faded away because I lacked interest, not because of my attempts at planning.

Mistake #4 - Naming your characters does not count as outlining and planning. Do more.

I would like to liken outlining to writing a list. You know when you have a million things to do and you write a list? It clears your mind and you lose that frantic forgetul edge. Some authors might point out this “loss of frantic edge” is you losing motivation for telling the story. But here is what I now think with a few drafts under my belt.

You don’t forget things when you write a list. Instead, you are focused on exactly what needs to be done. You won’t stress on your way to the Whitsunday Islands because you can’t remember if you packed your phone charger, you will enjoy the holiday because you know you have everything you need. The first draft should be an enjoyable process. It is the part of creating a book where you can really write with abandon. For this reason and much to my surprise, I now believe outlining is essential for adding to your motivation and enjoyment of the manuscript process.


First Draft #3

The draft before this was for the first title in The Tainted Accords series. This meant a second book and another first draft. I now knew a bit more about what to do, and what not to do. I knew before starting I should keep writing without looking back, I knew the first draft would be cringe-worthy, but it would get better (oh so much better) with the follow up drafts, and not to worry about this. And I knew the elation I would feel once I published the book. Some positive feedback had given me a confidence boost and this added to the increasing confidence I had in my writing ability.

I really think the best means of finding your way is to throw yourself in the deep end. The first draft I did I sunk in the deep end, the second draft I did some kind of inefficient doggy paddle and just made it to shore, and the third time I nearly achieved an Olympic time in freestyle - that’s what it felt like anyway.

I outlined this book. Here’s how.

Fantasy of Frost has a complex story line. Fantasy of Flight was no different. I started by opening a word document and writing what had to happen in the story. Next, I wrote down every characters name and made notes of what their involvement was in the main plot and any sub plots. What were their actions and hidden agendas? What information had to be included so I could get each character from A to B? This made it easy to complete the next part.

I outlined chapter by chapter.

Before doing this, I acknowledged this outline was very likely to change. I didn’t view the plan as concrete. I knew from my previous drafts that I am a writer who gets surprised as I write. Sub-plots leap out at me and are threaded into the story.

As I wrote this draft, I started by looking over my chapter notes (which were anywhere from two to seven bullet points long). I would then write the chapter and look back at my notes afterward to make sure I was on track. Sometimes as I wrote, I realized it was not the right time to reveal a particular piece of information. I would go back to my outline and highlight this point to indicate it was yet to be added, and move on to the next chapter. Initially I outlined nineteen chapters. The book ended up with twenty-six which shows you how much flexibility I allowed. I knew what each scene had to acheive, but what exactly happened in the scene remained a mystery. It was so much fun. And the results?

I got to know my characters and setting well. My first draft was tighter. And most importantly...

My second draft was a breeze. Success!

Going back to what I said about throwing yourself in the deep end. The first draft process is one where you are constantly learning and adjusting. Each of my first drafts has been easier than the last because I reflected and adapted accordingly.

Mistake #5 - Make word notes on where you place crucial information so you don’t make more work for yourself.

You can see, though my first draft for Fantasy of Flight was so much easier than those before it, I will still be implementing things I learned.

Hopefully this gives you an idea of what can help you to complete a first draft and a few thoughts about what could make it easier. The great thing about writers are we are so varied. The way we work and the stories we produce because of these variations, are delightfully different. Use the above as a guide for your first draft if you wish. But each time you throw yourself in the ‘deep end’, adjust a little more and eventually you will create your own, tailor-fitted method.

A tonne of thanks to Alexandra Engellmann at Engellmann for having me and I wish you all the best luck with your own first drafts!


Kelly St. Clare


P.S. If this blog helped you, you may also find my blog ‘On Writing Your Debut Book’ of interest.

Other sources you may find helpful


Author Biography

When Kelly St Clare is not reading or writing, she is dreaming up a story in her head; the cause of many headaches for her friends and family, who have struggled to encourage her participation in normal activities - such as everyday life.

Books have always been magical and mysterious to her. One day she decided to start unravelling this mystery and began writing. Her aim: To write stories she would want to read.

A New Zealander in origin, Kelly currently resides in Australia with her soon-to-be husband.

Follow her via Newsletter at www.kellystclare.com, and find her on Facebook or Goodreads.

If you would like to read her coming-of-age epic fantasy novel, Fantasy of Frost, then you can view it here.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Тегов пока нет.
Single post subscribe
bottom of page